آراء الخبراء

يقدم نخبة من الخبراء المختصين نظرة تحليلية معمقة حول نتائج "استطلاع أصداء بيرسون - مارستيلر السنوي لرأي الشباب العربي 2018".

ولي العهد السعودي يأخذ على عاتقه تحقيق رغبه شباب بلاده بالإصلاح

برنارد هيكل

برنارد هيكل

برنارد هيكل هو باحث متخصص بشؤون الجزيرة العربية مع التركيز بصورة خاصة على الجوانب السياسية والاقتصادية والتاريخية للمملكة العربية السعودية وبقية دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي واليمن. وهو أستاذ دراسات الشرق الأدنى، ومدير المعهد الإقليمي للدراسات المعاصرة حول الشرق الأوسط ومدير برنامج دراسات الشرق الأدنى في جامعة برنستون. وهيكل هو مؤلف كتاب «الإصلاح الديني في الإسلام»، وشارك مؤخراً في تحرير كتاب «التحول في المملكة العربية السعودية»، وكلاهما صادر عن دار نشر جامعة كامبريدج. ويعتبر هيكل مرجعية في حركات الإسلام السياسي والشريعة الإسلامية، وله العديد من المقالات السياسية عن المملكة العربية السعودية واليمن، والسلفية، والقاعدة، و«داعش».

يوفر استطلاع رأي الشباب العربي العاشر أخيراً بيانات كمية موثوقة حول مواقف الشباب العربي والسعودي فيما يتعلق بشخصية وسياسات ولي عهد المملكة العربية السعودية الأمير محمد بن سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود. وحتى الآن، كانت هناك مجرد أقاويل لا سند لها أن الشباب السعودي - 70% تقريباً من سكان المملكة هم دون سن الثلاثين - أيد بأغلبية ساحقة الأمير محمد بن سلمان وسياساته للإصلاح الاقتصادي والاجتماعي.

وكان صحفيون كبار، من أمثال توماس فريدمان من صحيفة «نيويورك تايمز» وآخرون، قد تحدثوا عن الآراء الإيجابية والحماسية التي يحملها الشباب السعودي عن محمد بن سلمان. وقد عرفنا بفضل هذا الاستطلاع أن أكثر من 90% من السعوديين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 – 24 عاماً أيدوا تعيين محمد بن سلمان ولياً للعهد، ودعموا حملته لمكافحة الفساد. وتعتقد الغالبية العظمى أيضاً أنه يمضي بالمملكة في الاتجاه الصحيح، ويشعرون بأن إصلاحاته الاقتصادية ستحقق النجاح، وبأنه قائد قوي سيكون له التأثير الأكبر على العالم العربي خلال السنوات العشر القادمة.

وما يثير الاهتمام بنفس القدر أيضاً هو أن غالبية كبيرة من شباب العالم العربي – أكثر من 60% - يحملون نفس الآراء الإيجابية تجاه محمد بن سلمان، كما حظيت حملته لمكافحة الفساد بتأييد 86% منهم.

ويجب أن يكون وقع هذه البيانات طيباً على محمد بن سلمان وفريقه السياسي، وهو يسعى بلا شك إلى استثمار السمعة الحسنة والتأييد القوي اللذين يحظى بهما.

ولفهم هذه الأرقام، لا بد من تقييم السياق الذي أنتجها اليوم في العالم العربي عموماً والمملكة العربية السعودية على وجه التحديد. إذ ثمة رغبة كبيرة وعميقة بالإصلاح في هذه المجتمعات، والشباب يرون في محمد بن سلمان القائد الأكثر انخراطاً في إنجاز هذا التحول.

وتتجلى هذه الرغبة في التغيير بشكل حاد في المملكة العربية السعودية تحديداً لأن البلاد كانت محكومة على مدى عقدين بسلطة سياسية هرمة اكتفت بتأييد الإصلاح الاقتصادي والاجتماعي دون أن تحرك ساكناً على أرض الواقع، وبدا معها التغيير مستحيلاً أياً كان نوعه. ونتيجة لذلك، كان الوضع القائم مزيجاً من السياسات الاجتماعية المحافظة بدرجة كبيرة والعطايا الحكومية على شكل وظائف في القطاع العام بالإضافة إلى الإعانات وغيرها من المستحقات الأخرى؛ وبذلك تغلب سلوك التواكل والاعتماد على الحكومة على روح ريادة الأعمال والمبادرات الشخصية.

ولا تخلو معدلات التأييد المرتفعة لمحمد بن سلمان وإصلاحاته من المخاطر بطبيعة الحال؛ فهي ترفع سقف التوقعات التي ينتظرها الشباب من التغييرات التي يمكن لولي العهد إحداثها والنتائج التي عليه تحقيقها.

ويعتقد الشباب السعوديون أنه سيتم قريباً توفير الكثير من الوظائف ذات الدخل الجيد ضمن إطار برنامج الإصلاح والتنويع الاقتصادي الذي يعرف باسم «رؤية 2030». ويعرب أكثر من 90% من المشاركين في الاستطلاع عن ثقتهم بنجاح «رؤية السعودية 2030 في ضمان مستقبل الاقتصاد السعودي». ويجب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن الشباب السعودي هم من بين أكثر المجموعات اتصالاً بالإنترنت في العالم، وهم بذلك يدركون جيداً أنماط الحياة الموسرة التي يتمتع بها أقرانهم في البلدان الغربية ودول الشرق الأقصى. ولهذا ينبغي إدارة تطلعاتهم بحرص بالغ لأن الإصلاحات وتوفير الوظائف سيستغرق بعض الوقت.

في خطاباته ومقابلاته، عبر محمد بن سلمان عن إحباط جيل الشباب من الوضع القائم؛ وهذا يفسر إلى حد ما نسبة التأييد المرتفعة لسياساته. ولكنه كان واضحاً أيضاً بأن تنويع الاقتصاد السعودي بدلاً من الاعتماد بشكل كبير على عائدات النفط سيكون عملية صعبة ومضنية.

في الواقع، ما من بلد في العالم شهد مثل هذا التطور الاقتصادي السريع الذي حققته السعودية وتمكن من إصلاح اقتصاده بنجاح. ولهذا السبب، ينبغي تذكير الناس بصعوبة هذه العملية أقله لأن ذلك سيساعد على الحد من الاعتقاد بأن محمد سلمان يستطيع بمفرده فعل المعجزات. إذاً، يجب إدارة التوقعات لأنها إذا لم تتحقق ستفضي حتماً إلى الاستياء.

وبالرغم من الدعم الكبير الذي يكشف عنه هذا الاستطلاع، إلا أن ذلك يضع محمد بن سلمان في موقف لا يحسد عليه؛ إذ عليه التعويض عن عقود من الفرص الضائعة قامت خلالها الحكومة السعودية بتأجيل الإصلاح الاقتصادي الحقيقي إلى ما لا نهاية. وفي الوقت نفسه، عليه إدارة التوقعات بالتوازي مع إصلاح الاقتصاد بهدف توفير وظائف ذات دخل جيد وخفض الاعتماد على عائدات النفط في الميزانية المالية.

إن تنويع الاقتصاد هو تحدٍّ طويل الأمد وسيستغرق أكثر من عقد لإنجازه كما يجب، وما من شك أن جيلاً كاملاً من السعوديين سيواجه المصاعب وقد لا يسعفهم الوقت لتحقيق تطلعاتهم. ولهذا من المهم جداً إيجاد الوسائل المناسبة لإعادة تحديد توقعاتهم وإقناعهم بضرورة بذل الجهود والتضحيات لبناء مستقبل أفضل للأجيال القادمة. ومع ذلك، فإن النجاح في إحداث التغيير المنشود لا بد أن يقترن بدعم شعبي واسع النطاق من الشباب – وهو ما يظهره الاستطلاع بطبيعة الحال – ومحالٌ تحقيقه إذا غلبت عليهم مشاعر الرفض واليأس.

شاهد الجلسة الحوارية حول النتائج

شاهد فريق خبرائنا أثناء مناقشة النتائج الرئيسية لاستطلاع أصداء بيرسون- مارستيلر لرأي الشباب العربي 2018. وتتناول هذه النقاشات القضايا الساخنة التي تواجه الشباب اليوم بما في ذلك نظرتهم حيال المستقبل، والثورة الرقمية، وتبدل المواقف إزاء أصدقاء وأعداء المنطقة.

The Expert Commentary

Leading commentators offer their perspectives on the key findings of the ASDA'A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018.

Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince steps up to his young
country’s deep desire for reform

Bernard Haykel

Bernard Haykel

Bernard Haykel is a scholar of the Arabian Peninsula, focusing on the politics, economics and history of Saudi Arabia, the other GCC countries, and Yemen. He is professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University, where he is also director of the Institute for the Transregional Study of the Contemporary Middle East and the Program in Near Eastern Studies. Professor Haykel is the author of Revival and Reform in Islam , and most recently the co-editor of Saudi Arabia in Transition , both published by Cambridge University Press. He is considered an authority on Islamist political movements and Islamic law and is the author of numerous articles on the politics of Saudi Arabia and Yemen, Salafism, Al-Qaeda and ISIS.

The 10th Arab Youth Survey finally provides reliable, quantitative data on the attitudes of both Arab and Saudi youth regarding the personality and policies of Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince, Mohammed bin Salman, known popularly as MBS. Until now, there were only anecdotal claims that Saudi youth–roughly the 70 per cent of the population under the age of 30 –overwhelmingly approved of MBS and his economic and social reform policies.

Journalists, such as Thomas Friedman of the New York Times and others, reported on the enthusiastic and positive opinions that many young people in Saudi Arabia had of MBS. With this survey, we know that more than 90 per cent of Saudis between the ages of 18 and 24 approve of his appointment as Crown Prince and are supportive of his anti-corruption drive. An overwhelming majority also believe MBS is taking the Kingdom in the right direction, and feel that his economic reforms are likely to succeed, and that he is a strong leader who will have the biggest impact on the region than any other Arab leader over the next decade.

What is equally interesting is that a significant majority of youth across the Arab world – more than 60 per cent–share the same positive views of MBS, and in the case of the anti-corruption campaign, 86 per cent of Arab youth are supportive.

This data must come as very good news to MBS and the policy team around him, and he must certainly seek to capitalise on the goodwill and favour he enjoys.

However, to make sense of the numbers, one has to appreciate the context today of the Arab world, and of the Kingdom in particular. There is a deep and broad desire across these societies for reform, and the youth see MBS as the most engaged agent in its transformation.

In Saudi Arabia, this desire for change is particularly acute because the country has been led for at least two decades by a gerontocracy that only paid lip service to economic and social reform and kept the country in resolute stasis – change of any kind appeared impossible. In effect, the status quo consisted of a combination of extremely conservative social policies and government handouts in the form of public sector jobs, along with subsidies and various entitlements. Rent-seeking behavior was rewarded over entrepreneurship, private initiative and merit.

These extraordinarily high numbers in favour of MBS and his reforms are nonetheless fraught with danger. They signal very high expectations among the youth about the changes MBS can generate and the results he must deliver.

Young Saudis no doubt believe that well-paying jobs will soon be plentiful as a result of the economic reform and diversification programme, otherwise known as Vision 2030. And, in fact, more than 90 per cent of those surveyed believe that “Vision 2030 will succeed in securing the future of the Saudi economy”. It bears keeping in mind that youth in Saudi Arabia are amongst the most Internetconnected and networked people on the planet, and are keenly aware of the affluent lifestyles that other youth enjoy in the West or in the Far East. Their expectations have to be managed carefully, because reform and job creation will take time.

In his speeches and interviews MBS has given voice to the frustrations of the young generation with the status quo, and this explains, in part, why so many are supportive of his policies. But MBS has also been clear that diversifying the Saudi economy away from its heavy dependence on oil revenues will be a very difficult and painful process.

It is a fact that no country in the world that has experienced the extremely rapid economic development that Saudi Arabia has witnessed has been able to successfully reform its economy. Because of this, it bears reminding people of the difficulty of this process, not least because it will help curb the belief that MBS can single-handedly work miracles. Expectations have to be managed because if they are unmet, they will eventually spill over into discontent.

Despite the huge support this survey shows, MBS is not necessarily in an enviable position. He has to make up for the decades of wasted opportunities during which real economic reform was endlessly deferred into the future by the government. Yet he must also manage expectations while reforming the economy with the aim of producing well-paying jobs and reducing the fiscal budget’s dependence on oil revenues.

Diversifying the economy is a generational challenge and will take more than a decade to complete. There is no doubt that a generation of Saudis will face hardship and may never attain their aspirations. Therefore, it is important to find the means to reset their expectations and to explain that their hard work and sacrifice is necessary for future generations to have it better. Nonetheless, success in effecting change is more likely with the widespread popular support of the youth – which this survey shows – than it would be if they were antagonistic and despondent.

Watch Findings Debated

Watch our panel of experts discuss the key findings of the ASDA’A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018. The wide-ranging conversation takes on hot-button issues facing youth today, including how they view their future, the digital revolution and shifting attitudes to the region’s friends and enemies.