آراء الخبراء

يقدم نخبة من الخبراء المختصين نظرة تحليلية معمقة حول نتائج "استطلاع أصداء بيرسون - مارستيلر السنوي لرأي الشباب العربي 2018".

خطر داعش لا يزال قائماً ... ولنا في التاريخ عبرة

حسن حسن

حسن حسن

حسن حسن هو زميل أول في «معهد التحرير لسياسات الشرق الأوسط» في العاصمة الأمريكية واشنطن، ويكتب عموداً دائماً في صحيفة «ذا ناشيونال» الناطقة بالإنجليزية في أبوظبي، وشارك في تأليف أحد كتب «نيويورك تايمز» الأكثر مبيعاً وهو كتاب «داعش: داخل جيش الإرهاب». يركز حسن على القضايا المتعلقة بدول مثل سوريا والعراق والبلدان الخليجية بالإضافة إلى الحركات الإسلامية في المنطقة. وهو كاتب مشارك في صحف «ذا غارديان»، و«فايننشال تايمز»، و«نيويورك تايمز»، ومجلتي «فورين بوليسي» و«فورين أفيرز».

عندما اجتاح «داعش» مساحات واسعة من شمال غرب العراق وشرق سوريا في صيف عام 2014، كانت إيديولوجيته جانباً محورياً في الجهود المبذولة لهزيمته بشكل دائم. حيث أن فكرة الخلافة تحديداً كانت على الدوام المحرك الرئيسي وراء الشباب المسلم للسفر والانضمام إلى التنظيم الإرهابي في العراق وسوريا.

وفي إحاطة قدمها في يونيو 2016، قال بريت ماكغورك، المبعوث الرئاسي الخاص للولايات المتحدة في التحالف الدولي لمحاربة «داعش»: «عندما سألت القادة في العواصم المختلفة عمّا يدفع شبابهم للانضمام إلى هذا التنظيم، كان القاسم المشترك في إجاباتهم جميعاً هو فكرة الخلافة التاريخية».

لقد تشرذمت الآن هذه الخلافة المعلنة؛ ومن جميع المناطق التي استولى عليها «داعش» سابقاً، لم يتبقَّ تحت سيطرته سوى بضعة جيوب صغيرة ومتفرقة في شرق ووسط وجنوب سوريا. صحيح أن مقاتليه لا يزال لديهم ملاذات آمنة يتحصنون بها وينشطون في العديد من البلدان، ولكن الخلافة المزعومة لم تعد قابلة للحياة في أي مكان بالمنطقة.

ومع الانحسار الجغرافي لنفوذ «داعش»، تأتي النتائج الأخيرة لاستطلاع رأي الشباب العربي لتوفر رؤى معمقة حول نظرة الشباب العرب إلى التنظيم ومستقبله.

وبينما كانت الإيديولوجية ذات مرة المحرك الدافع وراء ظهور «داعش»، فإن غالبية الشباب العربي اليوم يعتقدون بأن هزيمةً حتمية تنتظر «داعش» وإيديولوجيته (بنسبة 58%). وتعكس هذه النتيجة النظرة العامة في المنطقة إلى «داعش» في هذه المرحلة المفصلية من وجوده.

ومع ذلك، فإن إلقاء نظرة فاحصة سريعة على الظروف المحيطة بجاذبية «داعش» خلال السنوات الأربع الماضية من شأنه أن يقدم إشارات تحذيرية للحكومات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وخارجها.

منطلق الحديث أن «داعش» لا يحتاج إلى غالبيةٍ تدعمه ليستمر في الوجود كقوة هدامة في المنطقة. وقبل أن يستيقظ صناع القرار والمراقبون على خبر سيطرة «داعش» على الموصل، ثاني أكبر المدن العراقية، كان الناس في أنحاء المنطقة قد نبذوه بالفعل. فالتنظيم الذي يطلق على نفسه اسم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» بات يدعى «داعش»، وهو اسم مختصر أريد منه الحط من قدر التنظيم وإظهار همجيته ووحشيته. كما استحضر عدد لا يحصى من رجال الدين والأفراد مصطلح «الخوراج» لوصف «داعش»، ومجرد هذه الصفة تعطي ضوءاً أخضر لمحاربة وقتل متطرفي التنظيم دون تردد.

ومع ذلك، كان التنظيم لا يزال قادراً على الاحتفاظ بنحو ثلث مساحة العراق ونصف مساحة سوريا خلال صيف عام 2014. والعبرة من ذلك أن لدى هذه التنظيمات ما هو أكثر من التأييد الشعبي أو عدمه، فهم يتغذون أيضاً على فراغ السلطة والمظالم واللامبالاة.

وعندما حقق «داعش» هذه المكاسب العسكرية، لم يعتمد فقط وجود أقلية تدعمه بل استند أيضاً إلى أن الغالبية المحلية ليست لديهم المصلحة في قتاله. بمعنى آخر، بالنسبة إلى «داعش» وغيره من التنظيمات الإرهابية المماثلة، فإن اللا مبالاة المحلية إزائهم لا تقل أهمية عن الدعم النشط لقضيتهم. صحيح أن الناس مالوا إلى اعتبار التنظيم إرهابياً، ولكن غالبيتهم أيضاً أحجموا عن مواجهته عندما زحف إلى مناطقهم.

وجاء المجتمع الدولي لمحاربة «داعش» بعد شهور عدة في أواخر عام 2014 بعد أن استولى مقاتلوه على مناطق واسعة من العراق وسوريا. قبل ذلك وفي عام 2008، صرّح المسؤولون الأمريكيون والعراقيون بأن «داعش» فشل في إقناع العراقيين بإيديولوجيته، وكانت هزيمته آنذاك محققة أكثر مما هي عليه اليوم؛ ولكن التنظيم عاد أقوى من ذي قبل. وبالفعل، أعرب عدد قليل من المشاركين في الاستطلاع عن اعتقادهم بأن «داعش» سيستعيد نفوذه ويؤسس خلافته في المستقبل (6%)، ويعتقد عدد أكبر بأن التنظيم سيبقى تهديداً إرهابياً كبيراً (18%).

ولم يطل انتظار «داعش» كثيراً بعد هزيمته ميدانياً ليعاود الهجوم في مناطق عدة من العراق وسوريا، وهذه المرة تحول مجدداً إلى تكتيكات حرب العصابات القديمة للاحتفاظ بقدرته على القتال وإلحاق الضرر.

وقد أثبتت هذه التكتيكات، مثل عمليات القتل المستهدف وهجمات الكر والفر، فعاليتها في إضعاف قوات الشرطة والجيش المحلية ومنع المواطنين من الالتحاق بهذه المؤسسات بين عامي 2008 – 2014. وفي أحد منشوارته الأخيرة، ادعى «داعش» أن معدلات هجماته قاربت المستويات التي بلغتها قبل السيطرة على الموصل عام 2014.

لا شك أن هجمات «داعش» المستمرة ستبقى مؤثرةً ما لم يتم مجابهتها بإجراءات عسكرية وسياسية مضادة لتعزيز المؤسسات الأمنية وإقناع المواطنين بأن لهم مصلحة كبيرة في الحفاظ عليها.

إن التفاؤل الذي يبديه الكثير من الشباب العربي في الاستطلاع يعترض سبيله العديد من المؤشرات السلبية، ومنها مثلاً أن البلدان مثل الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها في المنطقة لا يكترثون كثيراً بإعادة إعمار العراق وسوريا. وبذلك يبدو من الصعب أن يحافظ المرء على تفاؤله في إلحاق هزيمة دائمة بالمتطرفين دون إرادة حقيقية من الحكومات للقيام بما يلزم لتحقيق ذلك.

ولا ينبغي بأي حال من الأحوال أن يُسمح اليوم بتكرار نفس نماذج الآمال الكاذبة التي كانت موجودة عام 2008 وفي عام 2014. إن أغلب الشباب العربي يعتقدون بأن هزيمةً حتمية تنتظر «داعش» وإيديولوجيته، ولكن هذا رهن فقط بانفتاح الحكومات في المنطقة والعالم على إشراك هؤلاء الشباب ومعالجة المظالم التي قد تتسبب بعودة «داعش» وغيره من التنظيمات الإرهابية الأخرى.

شاهد الجلسة الحوارية حول النتائج

شاهد فريق خبرائنا أثناء مناقشة النتائج الرئيسية لاستطلاع أصداء بيرسون- مارستيلر لرأي الشباب العربي 2018. وتتناول هذه النقاشات القضايا الساخنة التي تواجه الشباب اليوم بما في ذلك نظرتهم حيال المستقبل، والثورة الرقمية، وتبدل المواقف إزاء أصدقاء وأعداء المنطقة.

The Expert Commentary

Leading commentators offer their perspectives on the key findings of the ASDA'A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018.

History tells us the danger posed by Daesh has not yet passed

Hassan Hassan

Hassan Hassan

Hassan Hassan is a senior fellow at the Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy in Washington DC, a columnist for The National newspaper in Abu Dhabi and co-author of New York Times bestselling book ISIS: Inside the Army of Terror . He focuses on Syria, Iraq, the Gulf states and Islamist movements. He is a contributing writer for The Guardian, Foreign Policy, Foreign Affairs, the Financial Times and The New York Times.

When Daesh swept through large swathes of northwestern Iraq and eastern Syria in the summer of 2014, its ideology was quickly identified as a vital aspect of the effort to permanently defeat the group. The idea of a caliphate, in particular, was consistently cited as the major driving factor behind young Muslims traveling to join the organisation in Iraq and Syria at the time.

In a briefing in June 2016, Brett McGurk, the United States special presidential envoy to the global anti-Daesh coalition, made this observation: “The common denominator when I asked leaders in various capitals what is it that’s driving your young people to this movement – the common denominator is this notion of a historic caliphate.”

The proclaimed caliphate has now all but crumbled. Of all the territories Daesh once controlled, only small and scattered pockets remain under the group’s control in eastern, central and southern Syria. The militants continue to have sanctuaries and operate in multiple countries, but they no longer control a viable “caliphate” anywhere in the region.

Against the backdrop of its territorial demise, then, the latest findings of the Arab Youth Survey provide timely insights into how young Arabs view the organisation and its future today.

While ideology was once cited as a driving factor behind Daesh’s rise, the majority of young Arabs believe the group and its ideology will be fully defeated (58 per cent). This telling finding reflects how Daesh and its appeal are perceived in the region at this critical juncture of the group’s existence.

Still, a quick examination of the circumstances relating to the appeal of Daesh over the past four years could offer cautionary tales for governments in the Middle East and beyond.

To start off, Daesh does not require a majority supporting it to continue to exist as a destructive force in the region. Before policymakers and observers woke up to the news that Daesh had taken over Mosul, Iraq’s second-largest city, people from across the region had already turned against it. The group that called itself the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria had already been ridiculed as Daesh, a pejorative acronym that denoted barbarism and savagery. Countless clerics and individuals also used an ancient Islamic label for extremists, khawarij, meaning “outliers” or “rebels”, to describe the group. Critically, the label implied the extremists could be fought and killed without hesitation.

And yet, the group was still able to control approximately one third of Iraq and half of Syria during the summer of 2014. The lesson was that there is more to such groups than just popular appeal or the lack thereof. They also feed on power vacuums, grievances and indifference.

When Daesh made those military gains, it counted not just on the existence of a minority of supporters but also on the fact that the local majority did not feel they had a stake in the fight against it. In other words, for Daesh and like-minded groups, local indifference to them is no less important than active support for their cause. People at the time tended to see it as an extremist group, but most also refrained from resisting it when it rolled into their areas.

The world came to the fight against Daesh several months late in 2014, after the militants had already taken over large territories in Iraq and Syria. Before that, in 2008, American and Iraqi officials also proclaimed that Daesh failed to convince Iraqis of its ideology after the group was defeated, arguably more thoroughly than now. But the group came back, stronger than before. Indeed, a small number of respondents in the survey believe Daesh will regain its territory and establish its caliphate in the future (6 per cent), and a larger number believe the group will nonetheless remain a significant terrorist threat (18 per cent).

Daesh is already recovering in much of Iraq and Syria, not long after its territorial defeat. Instead of holding territories, Daesh reverted to old insurgency tactics to maintain its ability to fight and inflict damage.

These tactics, such as targeted killings and hit-and-run attacks, had a proven record of effectiveness in weakening local police and military forces and preventing residents from joining these institutions from 2008 to 2014. In one of its recent publications, Daesh even claimed that the rates of its attacks have come close to those that preceded its takeover of Mosul in 2014.

Daesh’s continued attacks are especially effective if they are not met with military and political counter-measures to strengthen security institutions and encourage locals to feel they have a stake in maintaining them.

The optimism that many young Arabs project in the Survey’s findings is betrayed by numerous indications that countries like the US and its allies in the region have little to no interest in rebuilding Iraq and Syria, for instance. It is thus hard to be upbeat about the lasting defeat of extremists when governments are not willing to do what it takes to help keep them defeated.

Similar patterns in 2008 and 2014, of false hopes, should not be allowed to happen today. Most young Arabs believe Daesh and its ideology could be fully defeated, but that merely provides an opening for governments in the region and internationally to engage these young people and address grievances that could enable Daesh and other extremists to make a comeback.

Watch Findings Debated

Watch our panel of experts discuss the key findings of the ASDA’A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018. The wide-ranging conversation takes on hot-button issues facing youth today, including how they view their future, the digital revolution and shifting attitudes to the region’s friends and enemies.