آراء الخبراء

يقدم نخبة من الخبراء المختصين نظرة تحليلية معمقة حول نتائج "استطلاع أصداء بيرسون - مارستيلر السنوي لرأي الشباب العربي 2019".

فشل الأنظمة التعليميةيهدد مستقبل الشباب العربي

كيم غطاس

كيم غطاس

كيم غطاس هي باحثة غير مقيمة في مؤسسة كارنيغي للسلام الدولي، عملت مراسلةً لصالح هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (BBC) لفترة طويلة غطت خلالها شؤون الشرق الأوسط ووزارة الخارجية الأمريكية والانتخابات الأمريكية، وهي مؤلفة الكتاب الشهير “الوزيرة: رحلة مع هيلاري كلينتون من بيروت إلى قلب القوة الأمريكية”. وتعكف غطاس حالياً على إعداد كتابها الثاني حول التداعيات الإقليمية للتنافس السعودي الإيراني منذ عام 1979، ومن المتوقع أن يصدر الكتاب في شتاء 2020.

لا عجب أن تكشف إحدى نتائج هذا الاستطلاع عن خيبة أمل الشباب العربي من التعليم الذي يتلقونه في ضوء الإهمال والتغييب الحاصل لطاقاتهم الكامنة. فعندما يقول ثلاثة من أصل كل أربعة شباب عرب أنهم غير راضين عن التعليم في بلدانهم، فهم يعبرون في الواقع عن مخاوفهم بشأن الحصول على فرص العمل. ولا ننسى أن البطالة كانت على رأس مخاوف الشباب العربي في استطلاع عام 2017 متقدمةً على الإرهاب والتطرف.

وعلت على مر السنوات الكثير من الأصوات التي حذرت من عجز التعليم في الشرق الأوسط، سواء في المدارس أو الجامعات، عن مواكبة متطلبات سوق العمل. وقبل موجة السخط التي اجتاحت المنطقة العربية، دقّ خبراء الاقتصاد والتعليم والمؤسسات الدولية والمنظمات المحلية غير الحكومية ناقوس الخطر بشأن تزايد أعداد الشباب والارتفاع السريع لمستويات البطالة بينهم: حيث يشكل الشباب دون سن الثلاثين عاماً 65% من سكان المنطقة، وتشير أغلب الدراسات إلى أن المعدل الوسطي للبطالة بينهم 25% ويواصل ارتفاعه، وهذا ضعف معدل البطالة العالمي. وقد حذر صندوق النقد الدولي مجدداً من استفحال المشكلة بما قد يفضي إلى موجة أخرى من انعدام الاستقرار.

ومع ذلك، قلما تم اتخاذ أي إجراءات تذكر لمعالجة المشاكل الهيكلية في النظام التعليمي وسوق العمل. وعدا عن بعض الاستثناءات المهمة، لا تزال معظم الحكومات العربية تنفق أموالاً طائلة على قطاعات أخرى مثل الدفاع، ولم يحظ التعليم بالاهتمام الكافي. وتراكمت المشكلات في جميع أنحاء المنطقة: الافتقار إلى برامج تأهيل المعلمين، والاعتماد على التعلم بطريقة الحفظ الصم في المدارس، والتكريس المفرط للأفكار القومية أو الدينية في بعض البلدان، والافتقار إلى التفكير النقدي في التعليم، جميعها عوامل قوّضت قدرة الشباب العربي على اكتساب مهارات الحياة الضرورية للنجاح في أسواق العمل التنافسية.

ولا يزال المجتمع يلقي ضغوطاً جمّة على الشباب للحصول على شهادة جامعية بأي ثمن مع أنها قليلاً ما تثمر للأسف عن مهارات حقيقية في سوق العمل. وفي مصر على سبيل المثال، يعد خريجو الجامعات أكثر عرضة للبطالة بمعدل الضعف مقارنة مع شخص حائز على شهادة ابتدائية فقط. ولا تزال الشهادات التقليدية مثل الهندسة أو الطب تلاقي إقبالاً مفرطاً من الطلاب على الرغم من إشباع سوق العمل بهذه المهن. كما أفضى السعي للحصول على وظيفة مدى الحياة في القطاع العام إلى تقويض عملية إصلاح التعليم وانحسار دور القطاع الخاص على مدى عقود من الزمن. وتفاقم الأمر منذ فترة طويلة سواءً في البلدان ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية مثل مصر، بما تعانيه من بيروقراطية مستفحلة، أو حتى في البلدان الأصغر مثل لبنان والأردن – ومجدداً لم يتم اتخاذ أي إجراءات تذكر لمعالجة الأمر.

ولا بد من تخطيطٍ أفضل، يشمل التعاون مع القطاع الخاص، لمواءمة البنية التحتية التعليمية مع متطلبات سوق العمل بما في ذلك التدريب المهني، وإعادة التدريب، وتشجيع ريادة الأعمال والخدمات مثل الإرشاد الوظيفي ومعارض الوظائف.

ويستمر تنامي عدد الوظائف الحكومية أو المرتبطة بالحكومة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ما قد يفسر التباين في إجابات الشباب الخليجي: ففي حين أبدى 70% قلقهم إزاء جودة التعليم في بلدانهم، أعرب 20% منهم فقط عن قلقهم حيال قدرة التعليم على إعدادهم لوظائف المستقبل. ومع أن الأمن الوظيفي لا يشكل مصدر قلق كبير في البلدان الغنية ذات الكثافة السكانية المنخفضة مثل قطر أو الإمارات، إلا أن مثل هذه الدول الريعية عليها أن تقرّ بأن نموذجها الناجح والمتقادم هذا لا يمكن أن يشكل خارطة طريقٍ للمستقبل، لا بالنسبة لها كدول ولا لمواطنيها.

ما يدعو للأسف العميق في نتائج الاستطلاع هو أن أكثر من نصف الشباب العربي يفضلون متابعة تعليمهم الجامعي في الغرب، وهذا أمر محسوم لأولئك الذين يمتلكون القدرة المالية على ذلك. وأغلب هؤلاء سيحصلون على شهادات عالية ووظائف مجزية في البلدان التي أقاموا فيها. أما لو عادوا إلى بلدانهم بشهاداتهم العالية نفسها، فستخيب طموحاتهم وتذهب جهودهم لإيجاد فرص العمل المناسبة أدراج الرياح. حتى في دول الخليج حيث افتتحت العديد من الجامعات الغربية فروعاً لها، أبدى 38% من شبابها المشاركين في الاستطلاع رغبتهم بمتابعة الدراسة في الخارج. والمؤكد في الأمر أن تضييق الحريات الأكاديمية يساهم في تعزيز هذا التوجه.

عندما يحلم شباب المنطقة بالدراسة في جامعات الغرب، فهم ينشدون بذلك مزيداً من الانفـتاح، ومساحة أكبر للتعبير عن أنفسهـم، ومستوى أعلى من الإبداع والاندمـاج؛ حيث أن قلة فقط من جامعات المنطقة توفر مثل هذه القيم التقدمية الاستشرافية، ولا شك أن المنطقة بحاجة إلى مزيد من هذه المؤسسات الأكاديمية لإلهام شبابها وإعداد قادة المستقبل.

لن يكون هناك أي مبرر لهجرة العقول الشابة فيما لو حظي العالم العربي بمستقبل أفضل وأكثر شمولية لا يُنظر فيه إلى الشباب باعتبارهم مصدر تهديد لاستقرار الحكومات والأنظمة، وإنما كطاقات كامنة يمكن استثمارها في نهضة بلدانها. كما أن الفجوة المستمرة بين قطاع التعليم وسوق العمل ستبقى بلا شك مصدراً لعدم الاستقرار، والحل بالتأكيد ليس في هدر الأموال على بناء منشآت أكاديمية فخمة.

ولمواجهة تحديات الغد ومواكبة طموحات واحتياجات شبابها، لا بد لدول الشرق الأوسط من إصلاح مناهجها التعليمية، والارتقاء بمستوى الشهادات التي تمنحها، وتبني نهج تعليمي متعدد التخصصات في مدارسها وجامعاتها، وتوجيه الطلاب نحو المهارات والشهادات المرغوبة في سوق العمل دائمة التغير – بدءاً من خبراء الزراعة المستدامة وصولاً إلى متخصصي الذكاء الاصطناعي؛ فهذا بالتأكيد أشد ما تحتاج إليه المنطقة اليوم.

The Expert Commentary

Leading commentators offer their perspectives on the key findings of the ASDA'A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018.

Education failings leave young Arabs with uncertain futures

Raed Barqawi

Kim Ghattas

Kim Ghattas is a non-resident scholar at Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. A longtime BBC correspondent, she has covered the Middle East, the US State department and US elections. She is the author of The New York Times bestseller: The Secretary: A Journey with Hillary Clinton from Beirut to the Heart of American Power. She is currently working on her second book, about the regional impact of the Saudi-Iran rivalry since 1979, due out in winter 2020. She sits on the board of trustees of the American University of Beirut.

Underserved and unappreciated, the region’s youth continue to be an untapped resource and their disappointment with the education they are receiving is the least surprising finding of this year’s Survey. When three-in-four Arabs say they are unhappy with the education in their country, however, what they are really expressing is their concern about employment opportunities. Employment was cited as the top concern of young Arabs in the 2017 ASDA’A Survey, ahead of terrorism and extremism.

Warnings about the mismatch between the quality of the education in the Middle East, whether in schools or universities, and the job market have abounded for years. Well before the explosion of discontent in the Arab uprisings, economists, education experts, international organisations and local NGOs, all raised the alarm about the growing youth bulge and the rapid rise in unemployed youth: 65 per cent of the region’s population is under 30, and most numbers show that youth unemployment stands at a regional average of 25 per cent and rising. This means it is twice as high as the world average. The IMF has been warning, again, that the problem is only getting worse and could lead to another wave of instability.

And yet, little if anything has been done to address the structural issues in both the educational system and the labour market. Most governments, with some notable exceptions, still spend too much on sectors like defence; Tunisia is spending some $2 billion on overhauling various aspects of its education system, while Saudi Arabia is also devoting resources to upgrading its education infrastructure.

Across the region, the problems abound: from a lack of teacher training and an emphasis on rote learning in schools, to the overbearing influence of nationalist or religious dogma in some countries, the lack of critical thinking in education undermines young Arabs’ acquisition of the life skills needed to thrive in a competitive market.

Society still places too much pressure on young people to obtain a university degree at all costs, a highly valued prize which unfortunately does not always translate into marketable skills. In Egypt, university graduates are twice more likely to be unemployed than someone with only a primary degree. Traditional degrees such as engineering or medicine are still oversubscribed, despite the saturated job market. The expectation of a job for life in the public sector has also undercut both the reform of education and the growth of the private sector for decades. This became unsustainable a long time ago for populous countries like Egypt, with its notoriously bloated bureaucracy, or even smaller countries like Jordan and Lebanon-and yet again, nothing is done.

Better planning, including in co-operation with the private sector, is a necessity to match the education infrastructure to the needs of the labour market, including vocational training and re-training, promotion of entrepreneurship and services, such as job counseling and careers fairs.

The pipeline to government, or government-connected, jobs continues to flow in GCC countries, and might explain the discrepancy in answers from Gulf countries: while 70 per cent express concern about the quality of education in their country, only 20 per cent express concern about how well this education is preparing them for the jobs of the future. In rich countries with small populations, such as the UAE or Kuwait, job security is less of a crushing concern. However, even these rentier states must contend with the reality that their successful but ageing model is not a roadmap for the future, neither for their states nor for their citizens.

What is deeply distressing in the survey’s findings is that more than a half of young Arabs would prefer to pursue a higher education in the West. Those who can afford to study abroad will do just that. Most of them will excel with high marks and go on to thrive in jobs in their adoptive countries. Those who do return home with a prized degree will often find their aspirations frustrated and their job search fruitless. Even in Gulf countries, where many Western universities have opened satellite campuses, 38 per cent of respondents still want to study in the West. Restraints on academic freedoms have undercut that particular experiment’s potential.

When the region’s youth dream of studying in Western universities, they are also in search of more openness, more space to express themselves, more creativity and inclusion; progressive values that few universities offer in the region. One of those is the American University of Beirut (disclosure: I sit on the AUB board). Ranked number one in the region in 2018, it has a long tradition in liberal arts and a track record of producing generations of graduates who have gone on to be leaders in their fields. The region needs more such places of learning to inspire its youth and produce the leaders of tomorrow.

The brain drain of the region’s brightest is untenable if the Arab world is to have a better, more inclusive future where young people are seen not as a threat to the stability of governments and systems, but as an untapped potential to unlock. The continued gap between the education sector and the job market is a sure recipe for further instability. Throwing money at the problem to build fancy facilities will not solve the problem either.

To meet the challenges of tomorrow and the aspiration and needs of its youth, countries across the Middle East need to overhaul school curricula and upgrade the degrees on offer, introduce a more interdisciplinary approach to learning in schools and universities, and help channel students towards skills and degrees that will make them desirable on a changing job market - from sustainable agricultural experts to artificial intelligence wizards. There is no issue more urgent in the region today.