آراء الخبراء

يقدم نخبة من الخبراء المختصين نظرة تحليلية معمقة حول نتائج "استطلاع أصداء بيرسون - مارستيلر السنوي لرأي الشباب العربي 2018".

شرق المتوسط... واقع مضطرب يترك مساحة ضيقة للتفاؤل

أسامة الشريف

أسامة الشريف

أسامة الشريف هو صحفي ومعلق سياسي مخضرم مقيم في العاصمة الأردنية عمّان، تلقى علومه في الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا، ونشر العديد من الصحف والمجلات في الأردن، وحرر كذلك العديد من الصحف اليومية باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية في عمّان والشارقة وأبوظبي. وشارك الشريف في منتصف التسعينيات بتأسيس وإدارة موقع Arabia.com، البوابة الإلكترونية الأولى في العالم العربي. وتم تعيينه عام 2004 عضواً في لجنة الأجندة الوطنية بالأردن حيث وضع مسودة قانون الإعلام. ويكتب الشريف حالياً تحليلات سياسية عن المنطقة في «جلف نيوز»، و«عرب نيوز»، و«جوردان تايمز»، ومعهد الشرق الأوسط.

ما من منطقة في العالم العربي عانت خلال العقدين الماضيين أكثر من شرق المتوسط؛ فقد ذاقت شعوب هذه المنطقة – التي تضم العراق، وسوريا، ولبنان، والأردن، والأراضي الفلسطينية – لوعة الغزوات الأجنبية والفتن الطائفية والثورات. وخلال ذلك، وقف العالم يتفرج على المنطقة وهي تفقد الكثير من تنوعها الثقافي والديني والعرقي، وتاريخها الأثري الغني، وإمكاناتها البشرية الكبيرة، عدا عن مليارات الدولارات التي خسرتها جراء غياب التنمية الاقتصادية.

وكان الغزو الأمريكي للعراق في عام 2003، مع ارتداداته الإقليمية الواسعة، نقطة تحول لعشرات الملايين من مواطني هذه المنطقة؛ حيث أفضت هذه الكارثة الجيوسياسية إلى سلسلة من الاضطرابات الإقليمية بما في ذلك التدخل الأجنبي في الشؤون المحلية لبلدان المنطقة، واندلاع الصراع الطائفي، وانحسار دور الحكومات المركزية، واغتصاب الثروات الوطنية، وظهور التنظيمات المتطرفة، وتوافد الجهاديين الأجانب، ونزوح الملايين عن أراضيهم، وويلات الحروب الأهلية الكارثية.

بعض البلدان غرقت في دوامة الفوضى بصورة مباشرة مثل العراق وسوريا، فيما شهد بعضها الآخر – مثل لبنان والأردن – تحديات سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية كانت نتيجة طبيعية لما يحدث قرب حدودها. واستمرت معاناة الفلسطينيين تحت سطوة الاحتلال الإسرائيلي مع تلاشي الآمال بإبرام تسوية سياسية قائمة على حل الدولتين.

وليس من المستغرب بطبيعة الحال أن يكون ضمن استطلاع أصداء بيرسون – مارستيلر السنوي العاشر لرأي الشباب العربي نتيجةٌ تقول بأن «نظرة الشباب العربي في منطقة شرق المتوسط باتت أكثر تشاؤماً ولا سيما خلال العامين الماضيين». وبالمقارنة مع أقرانهم في منطقتي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وشمال أفريقيا، كان الشباب العربي في منطقة شرق المتوسط الأكثر تشاؤماً؛ حيث يعتقد 86% منهم أن بلدانهم كانت تسير في الاتجاه الخاطئ بالمقارنة مع 46% من شباب شمال أفريقيا و7% فقط من الشباب الخليجي.

وإلى جانب الفوضى السياسية التي تعصف بالعراق وسوريا، تعاني جميع بلدان شرق المتوسط من الركود الاقتصادي. ففي الأردن، الذي ينتمي 70% من سكانه إلى فئة الشباب دون سن الثلاثين عاماً، أخفقت الحكومات المتعاقبة في معالجة تحديات البطالة المتنامية حتى وصلت اليوم إلى 18%، وهو المعدل الأعلى بين الشباب العربي علماً أن بطالة النساء بلغت 30% تقريباً.

وليست الأراضي الفلسطينية أفضل حالاً. ففي قطاع غزة المحاصر، حيث ما يزال مليونا فلسطيني يقبعون تحت حصار اقتصادي جائر فرضته عليهم إسرائيل منذ 10 سنوات، يعتمد 80% من السكان على المساعدات الغذائية، وهناك ما يزيد على 60% من الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 – 29 عاماً عاطلون عن العمل، وهذا أعلى بمرتين من معدل البطالة في الضفة الغربية.

ووفقاً للبيانات، يبدو الشباب اللبناني أفضل حالاً؛ حيث يبلغ معدل البطالة 7% فقط، ويشكل الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 – 24 عاماً نحو 16% من عدد السكان. ولكن أغلب الشباب اللبنانيين يحلمون بإيجاد وظيفة في دول الخليج وتحديداً دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ولا يزال الاقتصاد اللبناني يرزح تحت ضغط كبير، نظراً لوجود أكثر من مليون لاجئ سوري في البلاد.

ويشكل الشباب العراقي، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 - 24 عاماً، نحو 19% من سكان البلاد البالغ عددهم 32 مليون نسمة. ويبلغ معدل البطالة في العراق 14% ولكن مع شلل كبير في النظام السياسي، واستشراءٍ للفساد، ونزوح أكثر من 3 ملايين عراقي داخل البلاد، وحاجة 8,7 مليون شخص إلى مساعدات إنسانية؛ والواقع أسوأ بكثير بالنسبة للشباب العراقي مما تكشفه الإحصاءات.

ونصل إلى سوريا؛ حيث يعيش هذا البلد حرباً أهلية دموية عاثت فيه خراباً لأكثر من سبع سنوات، ولا تزال المواجهات محتدمة في العديد من المناطق، فضلاً عن التدخلات العسكرية لأربع قوىً خارجية على الأقل وعشرات الميليشيات المسلحة. وتقدر الأمم المتحدة أن 13,5 مليون سوري يعتمدون على المساعدات الإنسانية مع نزوح أكثر من 6 ملايين شخص داخل البلاد ولجوء نحو 5 ملايين خارجها. ولكم أن تتأملوا الآثار الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي ستتركها الحرب الأهلية على أجيال كاملة من السوريين.

ومع هذا الواقع الكئيب، يبدو واضحاً لماذا يعتقد أغلب الشباب العربي في شرق المتوسط (72%) أن أيامهم الماضية كانت أفضل. وهذه نتيجة خطيرة تستدعي اهتمام الحكومات المحلية والمجتمع الدولي على حد سواء.

إن هذا اليأس بين الشباب يعبر عن مستقبل منطقةٍ مهمةٍ ولكن مضطربة من العالم العربي، وهو يجسد مآلات ما يسمى «الربيع العربي» الذي انطلقت شرارته الأولى على يد شباب محرومين قبل أن تختطفه زمر من الانتهازيين بدوافع إيديولوجية. لقد كان الشباب العربي في أغلب بلدان شرق المتوسط ينشدون العدالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ويحلمون بنظام سياسي منصف... أرادوا مستقبلاً يستطيعون فيه الحصول على وظيفة والتمتع بالاستقرار الاجتماعي والاقتصادي.

على أي حال، يبشر هذا العام بشيء من الانفراج؛ حيث يقف العراق ولبنان على عتبات استحقاقات انتخابية من المفترض أن تضع البلاد على مسار الانتعاش ولو كان بطيئاً. وفي حين لا تزال سوريا تشكل تحدياً عالمياً، إلا أن صوت السلاح توقف على الأقل في أغلب مناطق البلاد. ويحاول الأردن مرة أخرى أن يعيد هيكلة اقتصاده. أما الفلسطينيون، فعليهم الانتظار حتى يمتلك المجتمع الدولي الإرادة لإنهاء معاناتهم المستمرة منذ عقود. في نهاية الأمر، مستقبل هذه المنطقة بين أيدي شبابها، ولهذا لا بد للوضع الراهن أن يتغير.

شاهد الجلسة الحوارية حول النتائج

شاهد فريق خبرائنا أثناء مناقشة النتائج الرئيسية لاستطلاع أصداء بيرسون- مارستيلر لرأي الشباب العربي 2018. وتتناول هذه النقاشات القضايا الساخنة التي تواجه الشباب اليوم بما في ذلك نظرتهم حيال المستقبل، والثورة الرقمية، وتبدل المواقف إزاء أصدقاء وأعداء المنطقة.

The Expert Commentary

Leading commentators offer their perspectives on the key findings of the ASDA'A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018.

A blighted region leaves little hope for Levant’s youth

Osama Al-Sharif

Osama Al-Sharif

Osama Al-Sharif is a veteran journalist and political commentator from Amman, Jordan. Educated in the US and Britain he published a number of newspapers and magazines in Jordan and edited leading Arabic and English language dailies in Amman, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi. In the mid-1990s he co-founded and managed Arabia.com, the Arab world’s first portal. In 2004 he was appointed to the Royal Commission for the National Agenda in Jordan where he drafted the media law. Currently he contributes political analysis on the region to Gulf News, Arab News, Jordan Times and the Middle East Institute.

No region in the Arab world has been as severely tested over the past two decades as the Levant. Comprising Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan and the Palestinian territories, the Levant’s people have endured foreign invasions, sectarian strife and uprisings. In the process, the world could do little but watch the Levant lose much of its unique cultural, religious and ethnic diversity, rich archaeological history and exceptional human potential, not to mention billions of dollars in missed economic growth.

The US invasion of Iraq in 2003, with its regional reverberations, was a watershed event for tens of millions of people living in these five states and territories. That geopolitical disaster has been blamed for a series of regional upsets that include foreign meddling in local affairs, the flare-up of sectarian fighting, the waning of central governments, the massive usurpation of national wealth, the emergence of extremist groups and foreign jihadists, the displacement of millions and the horrors of catastrophic civil wars.

Some countries were directly consumed by turmoil, such as Iraq and Syria. Others, namely Lebanon and Jordan, were challenged politically, economically and socially by the aftershocks of what was happening near their borders. The Palestinians continued to suffer under Israeli occupation as hopes for a political settlement based on the two-state solution crumbled.

It is no surprise then that the 2018 ASDA’A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey has found that youth’s outlook in the Levant is increasingly bleak, particularly over the past two years. Compared to their peers in the GCC and North Africa regions, young Arabs in the Levant are by far the most pessimistic. Eighty-six per cent believe that their country of residence is going in the wrong direction, compared to 46 per cent in North Africa and just 7 per cent in the GCC.

Aside from the political disarray engulfing countries like Iraq and Syria, all the Levant countries are suffering from economic stagnation. In Jordan, where more than 70 per cent of the population is under 30 years of age, successive governments have failed to address the challenges of growing unemployment, which now stands at 18 per cent. The rate is higher among young men, and is almost 30 per cent among young women.

The Palestinian territories are not doing any better. In the besieged Gaza Strip, where 2 million Palestinians continue to endure a 10-year economic blockade, 80 per cent of the population relies on food handouts to survive and more than 60 per cent of those aged between 15 and 29 in Gaza are out of work; more than twice as high as the rate in the West Bank.

On paper, Lebanese youth appear to be doing better, with the unemployment rate standing at about 7 per cent and where those aged between 15 and 24 make up about 16 per cent of the population. But most young Lebanese dream of finding a job in the GCC, especially the UAE. And with more than 1 million Syrian refugees now in Lebanon, the economy remains under tremendous pressure.

Iraqi youth – those aged between 15 and 24 years old – make up about 19 per cent of the population of 32 million. The unemployment rate now stands at about 14 per cent, but with a dysfunctional political system, rampant corruption and more than 3 million internally displaced people and 8.7 million people in need of humanitarian assistance, the reality is much worse for young Iraqis than the statistics suggest.

That leaves Syria, a country left in ruins by more than seven years of bloody civil war that is still raging in places, and with military interventions by no less than four foreign powers and dozens of armed militias. The UN estimates that 13.5 million Syrians depend on humanitarian assistance, of which more than 6 million are internally displaced and around 5 million are refugees outside Syria. One can only speculate on the social and economic effects the civil war will have on generations of Syrians.

With this bleak reality in mind it is not difficult to understand why a majority of young Arabs in the Levant, 72 per cent, believe that their best days are behind them. This is a dangerous finding that warrants attention from national governments and the international community alike.

Despair among the youth speaks volumes about the future of such an important, but volatile, region of the Arab world. It explains how the so-called Arab Spring was triggered by disenfranchised youth in its early days before it was corrupted and hijacked by ideologically motivated opportunists. Arab youth in most Levant countries wanted social and economic justice and an equitable political system. They wanted a future where their right to find jobs, enjoy social and economic stability and progress could be a reality.

This year, though, could provide some muchneeded relief. Elections are to be held in Iraq and Lebanon, and they just might put both countries on the path to slow recovery. Syria remains a global challenge, but the guns have at least stopped firing across much of the country. Jordan is attempting, once again, to restructure its economy. The Palestinians will have to wait until the international community can summon the will to end their decades-old suffering. By the end of the day the future of this region rests on its youth. This is why the current trend must be reversed.

Watch Findings Debated

Watch our panel of experts discuss the key findings of the ASDA’A Burson-Marsteller Arab Youth Survey 2018. The wide-ranging conversation takes on hot-button issues facing youth today, including how they view their future, the digital revolution and shifting attitudes to the region’s friends and enemies.